The Morley Academy provides all students with the opportunity to take a fully inclusive part in a whole school House System. The House System is designed to encourage students to extend their learning in a range of curriculum areas. It is hoped that students will also develop a sense of community cohesion and responsibility within their Houses.

The current House System was launched in 2004 and is based upon four prominent historical figures from the world of technology. Students are allocated to one of the four Houses: Quant (purple), Einstein (red), Turing (yellow) or Franklin (green). Students remain members of their Houses throughout their time at The Morley Academy.

Each House is led by a member of the Senior Leadership Team who is responsible for leading his or her students to success in a wide range of House competitions. Heads of Houses also deliver assemblies to inform, motivate and celebrate achievement.

The House competition culminates with an end of year celebration assembly during which trophies and certificates are awarded to individuals and teams who have shown outstanding levels of effort and achievement throughout the year. The annual overall House Champions are also crowned on this occasion, making it a real highlight of the year!


Head of House: Miss Maude


Albert Einstein (14 March 1879 – 18 April 1955) was a German-born theoretical physicist.
He developed the general theory of relativity, one of the two pillars of modern physics (alongside quantum mechanics). Einstein’s work is also known for its influence on the philosophy of science. Einstein is best known in popular culture for his mass–energy equivalence formula E = mc2 (which has been dubbed “the world’s most famous equation”). He received the 1921 Nobel Prize in Physics for his “services to theoretical physics”, in particular his discovery of the law of the photoelectric effect, a pivotal step in the evolution of quantum theory.


Head of House: Miss Dixon-Connor


Rosalind Elsie Franklin (25 July 1920 – 16 April 1958) was an English chemist and X-ray crystallographer who made contributions to the understanding of the molecular structures of DNA (deoxyribonucleic acid), RNA (ribonucleic acid), viruses, coal, and graphite.
Franklin is best known for her work on the X-ray diffraction images of DNA while at King’s College, London, which led to the discovery of the DNA double helix for which James Watson, Francis Crick and Maurice Wilkins shared the Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine in 1962.
Franklin led pioneering work at Birkbeck on the structures of viruses.


Head of House: Mr Hollywood


Dame Barbara Mary Quant (11 February 1934) is a Welsh fashion designer and British fashion icon.
She became an instrumental figure in the 1960s London-based Mod and youth fashion movements. She was one of the designers who took credit for the miniskirt and hot pants, and by promoting these and other fun fashions she encouraged young people to dress to please themselves and to treat fashion as a game. Ernestine Carter, an authoritative and influential fashion journalist of the 1950s/60s, wrote: “It is given to a fortunate few to be born at the right time, in the right place, with the right talents. In recent fashion there are three: Chanel, Dior, and Quant.”


Head of House: Mrs Jackson


Alan Mathison Turing (23 June 1912 – 7 June 1954) was a pioneering English computer scientist, mathematician, logician, cryptanalyst and theoretical biologist. He was highly influential in the development of theoretical computer science, providing a formalisation of the concepts of algorithm and computation with the Turing machine, which can be considered a model of a general purpose computer. Turing is widely considered to be the father of theoretical computer science and artificial intelligence.
During the WW2, Turing worked for Britain’s codebreaking centre.