Academy Performance

Academy Performance 2017-10-23T11:03:27+00:00

The primary indicator of school performance is now Progress 8, however the DfE performance tables will also reference the following key headline measures:

  • Progress across 8 subjects
  • Attainment across the same 8 subjects
  • Percentage of pupils achieving the threshold in English and mathematics. A grade 4 will be referred to as a ‘standard pass’ and a grade 5 as a ‘good pass’
  • Percentage of pupils achieving the English Baccalaureate.

Progress 8

Progress 8 is calculated by determining each student’s performance across a range of eight different subjects (English, Mathematics, three EBacc subjects, please see below, and three other GCSE or high quality GCSE equivalent outcomes) and then comparing this performance to the attainment of other students nationally who started secondary school with a similar Key Stage 2 results profile. A student will achieve a positive Progress 8 score if their performance is above that of other students nationally and a negative Progress 8 score if their performance is below that of other students nationally. Individual Progress 8 scores will be aggregated to give a Progress 8 score for each school. For example, if a school’s progress 8 score is +0.5 it means that students at that school have, on average, achieved half a grade higher in each of their subjects than other students of the same starting point nationally.

We are delighted that the provisional Progress 8 score for 2016-17 is +0.65 which places The Morley Academy within the top 3.5% of schools nationally. Furthermore, our provisional Progress 8 Score for disadvantaged students is +0.75. This clearly demonstrates the exceptional progress that all students have made during their time with us.

GCSE Results

Attainment 8

Attainment 8 measures the achievement of a student across 8 qualifications including Mathematics (double weighted) and English (double weighted), 3 further qualifications that count in the English Baccalaureate (EBacc) measure and 3 further qualifications that can be GCSE qualifications (including EBacc subjects) or any other non-GCSE qualifications on the DfE approved list. Each individual grade a pupil achieves is assigned a point score, which is then used to calculate a student’s Attainment 8 score.

In 2017, new GCSE qualifications in English and Mathematics, graded 1-9, will be included in performance tables, with others to follow in 2018 and 2019. Points will be allocated to the new GCSEs on a 1-9-point scale corresponding to the new 1 to 9 grades, e.g. a grade 9 will get 9 points in the performance measures. To minimise change, unreformed GCSEs and all other qualifications have been mapped onto the 1-9 scale from 2017 (with 8.5 being the maximum points available for unreformed GCSEs) and the new point system can be seen below.

GCSE grade 2016 Points 2017 and 2018 Points
G 1.00 1.00
F 2.00 1.50
E 3.00 2.00
D 4.00 3.00
C 5.00 4.00
B 6.00 5.50
A 7.00 7.00
A* 8.00 8.50

We are delighted that despite the introduction of the new GCSE point scores in 2017 the average Attainment 8 score per pupil at The Morley Academy for 2016-17 currently stands at 53.07, which exceeds the Leeds Local Authority 2017 Attainment 8 score of 46.0 by 7.07.

Percentage of pupils achieving the threshold in English and mathematics

Following the introduction of the reformed GSCEs in English Literature, English Language and Mathematics GCSEs the grading system for these subjects has now moved from letters (A*-G) to a numerical 9 to 1 system, with 9 being the highest grade. The government has decided to describe a grade 4 as a ‘standard pass’ and a grade 5 as a ‘strong pass’.  A grade 4 and above is equivalent to a C and above: if pupils do not achieve this level they will be required to continue studying English and Mathematics Post- 16. Where employers, FE providers and universities currently accept a grade C, they are expected to continue recognising a grade 4.

In 2017 82.07% of students achieved a Grade 4 or above in both English and Mathematics. This places the academy as the top performing school in the city, exceeding the Leeds Local Authority 2017 attainment for a 4+ in English and Mathematics of 61.7% by 20.37%.

The English Baccalaureate (EBacc)

The English Baccalaureate is a performance measure that looks at student performance in specific areas. Students who have secured 9-4 grades in English and Mathematics and A*-C grades in a modern or ancient language, a humanity (history or geography) and two science GCSEs are said to have achieved the English Baccalaureate. This year the 2017 data-set reveals that 46% of all students achieved the EBacc with English and Mathematics at Grade 4+ and 41% of students achieved the EBacc at Grade 5+ for English and Mathematics. The first of these figures exceeds the Leeds Local Authority data-set by 24% and the 2016 academy data by 18.4% which is very significant.

Summary of the Key headlines for 2017

Progress 8: +0.65

Attainment 8: 53.07

Percentage of students with a Grade 4+ in English and Mathematics: 82.07%

Percentage of students with a Grade 5+ in English and Mathematics: 56.0%

Percentage of students that were entered for the English Baccalaureate: 62.1%

Percentage of pupils achieving a standard pass in the English Baccalaureate (grade 4 or above in English and Mathematics and a grade C in unreformed subjects): 46.0%

Percentage of pupils achieving a strong pass in the English Baccalaureate (grade 5 or above in English and Mathematics and a grade C in unreformed subjects): 41.0%

Performance Tables

To compare the academy’s impressive Key Stage Four performance with other schools in Leeds, and nationally, please refer to the School Performance Tables. The School Performance Tables can be accessed using the following link:


Download the Validated Inspection Dashboard
Download the Validated TMA RAISE
Download the Summary of Changes